Chicago…..

My boyfriend and I decided that it was time for a quick getaway from the everyday, and with the long Easter weekend, we decided to take the short flight to Chicago, as neither of us had visited before.

I was greatly impressed with the city!  We lucked out and had wonderful weather, got to experience way more than I imagined, and would recommend a visit to the “Windy City” to anyone.

As an Art and Architecture fan, I was in my element.  The Art Institute of Chicago has one of the best collections in North America.  They are currently running a Matisse exhibition, and I got to see loads of works that I had only seen in textbooks from when I was in school!

Myself, checking out Edward Hopper's "Nighthawk"

Around the corner is Millenium Park, where we had to fight the crowds to snap some pics of Anish Kapoor’s “Cloud Gate”

Hotel of choice was the James.  Modern sleek interiors with impeccible service, and great amenities.  Perfect location as well, close to great restaurants and shopping (what more could you want?)

We also had a chance to head to Oak Park, and toured Frank Lloyd Wright’s home and studio.  As the weather was unbelievably beautiful, we aslo opted for the walking tour where we got to see many of the homes that Wright designed in the neighborhood. (P.S. if you are in the market for a Frank Lloyd Wright home, you can purchase one in Oak Park for a mere $1.5 million)

We also took a quick walk over to Obama’s Chicago home, and by quick I mean quick! We were immediately warned to stay away by the secret service, who did not want anyone lingering around the home ….but not before I was able to snap a quick photo!

Obama's Chicago home

For great eats, we stopped by the trendy Avec for some wonderful food, and did not miss out on the original deep dish pizza at Pizza Uno! mmmmmmm….. still daydreaming about that one!

Avec

And…… of course, for any letterpress/stationary/paper lover, I had to visit The Paper Source!  More details on that venture to come!

One thought on “Chicago…..

  1. Mmmm Deep Dish Pizza! I couldn’t believe how much cheese is in one of these. I could only describe it as a cheese pie. When I was in Chicago, 3 of use ordered a small pizza (described on the menu for 1-2 people) and we only got through half of it! Sounds like you had a great time.

Leave a Reply

