Don Black Linecasting

Last week on my day off I decided to hop in my car and make the 30 minute drive east of my home to the infamous Don Black Linecasting.  I was not sure what to expect, as I had read and heard about the abundance of letterpress supplies provided here. I was not disappointed.

As I walked in I was greeted by a lovely “Welcome” sign made of wooden type, and found Craig Black, second generation at this 40 year old business inside.  Craig gave me a brief overview of the warehouse, and then let me loose.  I took my time to wander around, as every nook and cranny was filled with numerous tools, items, spare parts and more.

There were floor to ceiling stacked California job case drawers filled with various type.  I wandered into another room where I discovered an aray of tabletop presses in the midst of being repaired.  In another room were various floor sized presses, such as the infamous Heidelberg Windmill, and a beautiful Golding Jobber.

I couldent resist, and treated myself to a new set of type (Craig will provide you with the full set in a California job case drawer), as well as an empty drawer for the Parisian type that I had previously purchased.

Craig was a pleasure to speak with, and is a wealth of knowledge when it comes to presses.  He did admit to me that he thoroghly enjoys taking the presses apart, cleaning them up and reassembling them to their original splendour.

I consider myself very lucky to live so close to Don Black’s, he is widely admired in the industry, and I can’t wait to make another visit in the near future!

Don Black Linecasting
120 Midwest Road, Unit 5
Toronto, ON M1p 3B2
p: 416-751-5944
don@donblack.ca

2 thoughts on “Don Black Linecasting

  1. Pingback: California Job Case «

Leave a Reply

