My First Letterpress!

I DID IT!!! I purchased my first printing press today from ebay! I am beyond excited.  It is an 8×5 Adana press,  which was manufactured in England for many years.  Currently, a company in the UK – Caslon owns the rights, and still sells them along with all the accessories needed.  It was a bit pricey for me to purchase one from them, so ebay was the way for me to go.  I have been eyeing many machines for some time now, and finally got one for myself.

The only concern that I have now is getting it to my side of the ocean safely.  I emailed back and forth with the seller, and they seem to know what they are doing, so I feel good about this transaction (fingers crossed!).  My new Adana machine will look something like the image above, but not as squeeky clean (the image above is an example of an Adana machine purchased directly from Caslon).

I still need to get many accessories before I am officially printing, such as type, quoin keys, ink, and of course loads of paper to practice with.  I guess its time for me to head over to Don Black, a dealer who is located in Toronto and considered one of THE printing press go to people in North America.  I’m hoping that he will be able to supply me with most items needed to get started.

4 thoughts on “My First Letterpress!

  1. Good luck with the Adana – I know how you must feel about the ebay purchase and the anticipation about being able to print! I bought a smaill nipping press off ebay a couple of months ago, restored it and begun printing. Simple stuff, and very short runs, but all inked and pressed by hand! A wonderful experience. You can read my posts obout this here: http://lestaret.wordpress.com/category/printmaking/

    Great blog – I’ll keep checking back to see how you get on!

    Chris

    • Thanks Chris!
      I am very excited! I have heard many good things about the Adana, and look forward to putting it to good use. Your blog looks great! I love the machine that you restored. I will definitely continue to follow what your doing.

Leave a Reply

