Return of the Press!

15th Century Image of French Printing Press

15th Century Image of French Printing Press

Vintage Chandler & Price Press

Vintage Chandler & Price Press, 1912

Vintage Wooden Type

Vintage Wooden Type

For the past couple of months, I have been in search mode with regards to exploring my crafty side. I have a mild obsession with Typography and stumbled onto the old technique of Letterpress. We have all come across a work of this craft at some point, and it is definitely making a huge comeback! Letterpress blogs and groups are popping up like crazy!

Depending on where you live, it may be difficult to find a trace of this craft in your local neighbourhood. If you are interested – take a look through local antique shops for old press type, or if your lucky…. a tabletop press (which I am currently in search of and are going up in price!)

I live in Toronto, Canada…. and with a thriving Craft community I am positive that I will find others out there that share the same interest and hopefully some that I can learn from!  Updates to follow……..

Leave a Reply

